Council Chairperson

Edgar Wyn Owen (Council Chairperson):

Gwynedd Council elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman every 12 months at the Council's annual meeting. The Chairman presides over meetings of the Council and represents Gwynedd Council in civic and ceremonial functions.

In the annual Gwynedd Council meeting on 2nd May 2019, Councillor Edgar Wyn Owen (Waunfawr) was elected Chairperson of Gwynedd Council, with Councillor Simon Glyn (Tudweiliog) as Vice-Chair.

A Gwynedd Councillor since 2016, Councillor Edgar Owen has served on a number of committees including:

On his election as Gwynedd Council Chairperson, Councillor Owen said:

It is an honour and a privilege to be elected as Gwynedd Council Chairperson. During my year in the Chair, I will do my best to serve all of Gwynedd’s residents.


Contact the Chairperson and Vice-Chair

Sian Ellis Williams
Civic Officer,
Gwynedd Council
Council Offices
LL55 1SH

Phone: 01286 679666